Near me

Sledding questions, answered

58 common questions about finding hills, our labels, cost, lights, kids, gear, snow and rules. Facts link their source.

Finding a hill

How do I find a sledding hill near me?

Use Search by ZIP. Enter a ZIP code and a distance and the page lists hills from our 668 listings, closest first, with a map.

Which cities does the site cover?

98 metro areas right now. The full list is on the home page.

My town is not listed. Can you add it?

Yes. Send the hill and a link to a page that names it through the corrections form. We add places only when a public page names them.

Can I see the hills on a map?

Each metro page has a map. Tap or scroll the map to load it, then tap a pin for the name, source and a directions link.

Do you list snow tubing parks?

Some. Paid tubing parks show up when a source names them, and the listing says paid or not stated. Use the Rentals or tubing filter on a metro page.

How do I get directions to a hill?

Every hill page has a directions link that opens your maps app with the park name or address from the source.

Why is a hill missing a map pin?

Some sources give only a park name. If we could not place it, the page says so and the directions link searches by name and town.

Back to top

What the labels mean

What does 'Listed by park or city' mean?

The park, city or county that runs the place lists it for sledding on its own page. 308 of our 668 hills have this label.

What does 'Local mention' mean?

A newspaper, tourism office or local guide names it as a sledding spot, but we did not find it on the park or city's own list. 358 hills have this label. Check posted signs when you arrive.

What is a 'Hidden gem'?

A public park that locals name in a public thread, such as a Reddit post. The label reads "Mentioned by locals" and the source line links the thread and its date. 2 hills have it today. We skip private land, golf courses that ban sledding, and anything that would mean trespassing.

Does a label promise that sledding is allowed?

No. The label only says who names the place. Rules change, and posted signs at the park come first.

Why do some details say 'Not stated by source'?

We only fill in a detail like lights, cost or parking when the source says it. If it does not, we say so instead of guessing.

Do you rate or rank hills?

No. We do not rate hills. The only ranking on the site is the data story, which counts hills that sources state are free.

What does the check date mean?

It is the day we last read the source page. Each hill shows it next to the source link.

Back to top

Cost

Is sledding free?

Only some sources state the cost. 60 of our 668 hills have a source that states they are free, and 12 are paid. The rest are listed as not stated.

How do I find only free hills?

On a metro page, tap the Free chip. On Search by ZIP, set Cost to free per source only.

Do I need to pay for parking?

Only if the source says so, and then it is in the notes. Otherwise parking is listed as not stated.

Which city has the most free hills?

Back to top

Lights and night sledding

Where can I sled at night?

26 hills have a source that mentions lights. They are collected on Lit sledding hills.

Are parks open after dark?

It depends on the park. Where a source gives hours, the hill page lists them. Many parks close at dusk or at a set time, so check the park page.

What do health groups say about night sledding?

The Wisconsin Department of Health Services says to use well lit areas for evening sledding (Wisconsin DHS).

Back to top

Kids and age

What age can kids start sledding?

Nationwide Children's Hospital says children younger than 5 should only sled with an adult (Nationwide Children's).

Should kids wear a helmet?

The American Academy of Pediatrics says to consider a helmet for sledding (FQ_AAP News). Wisconsin DHS says children under 12 should wear a bike or multi-sport helmet (Wisconsin DHS).

How do I find gentle hills for little kids?

Use the Gentle chip on a metro page. It only shows hills where the source describes the slope as gentle. Also see Sledding with little kids.

Should kids sit or lie down on the sled?

FQ_AAP advises riding upright, feet first and facing forward (FQ_AAP News).

How fast does a sled go?

Wisconsin DHS says a typical sled can go 15 to 20 miles per hour or more (Wisconsin DHS).

Do I need to supervise older kids?

Wisconsin DHS says children under 12 should be supervised by an adult (Wisconsin DHS).

Back to top

Sleds and gear

What should I bring sledding?

See What to bring sledding for a checklist.

What kind of sled is easiest to control?

Wisconsin DHS says sleds with runners and steering are preferred and inflatable tubes are hard to control (Wisconsin DHS).

Are snow tubes and saucers different?

FQ_AAP News reports that tubes and disks can spin and do not let riders steer or brake (FQ_AAP News).

Do some hills ban metal runners or toboggans?

Some do. When a source states a rule like that, it is in the hill notes.

Can I rent a sled?

Some places rent sleds or tubes. Use the Rentals or tubing filter. A few parks also keep loaner sleds, and the notes say so when a source does.

Do you earn money from gear links?

Gear links on metro pages are paid Amazon search links and are marked as paid. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. See the disclaimer.

What should I wear?

Wisconsin DHS lists boots, hats, mittens, layers and water repellent outer clothing (Wisconsin DHS).

Back to top

Snow and weather

How much snow do I need to sled?

No set depth. Health groups describe packed snow and no ice as the conditions to look for. Thin snow over grass, rocks or roots makes for a rough ride.

When does the first snow usually come?

Each metro has a season page with the month the first inch usually lands, from FQ_NOAA 1991 to 2020 normals (FQ_NOAA Climate Normals). The guides page links all of them.

Which city in the list gets the most snow?

Syracuse, NY, at about 127.8 inches a year at its nearest FQ_NOAA station.

Is icy snow a problem?

Wisconsin DHS says to choose packed snowy surfaces and avoid ice covered hills (Wisconsin DHS).

How cold is too cold?

We do not set a number. Check the forecast, wind chill and local school or health advice for the day.

Is a hill open after a big storm?

Not stated by most sources. Some parks post closures on their own page or phone line, and the hill notes include those numbers when the source gives one.

Back to top

Rules and park policies

Is sledding allowed in city parks?

It varies by city. Some allow it anywhere, some only on posted hills, and a few ban it on city land. Metro pages list local rules when a source states them.

Who is responsible if someone gets hurt?

That depends on state law and the park. We do not give legal advice and cannot say who is liable. See the disclaimer.

Can I build a jump?

Wisconsin DHS advises against jumps that send a slider airborne (Wisconsin DHS). Many parks also post rules on this.

Can I sled on a golf course?

Only where the course or city allows it. Some list sledding in winter, others ban it. We list a course only when a source names it for sledding.

Can I sled at a school?

Some local guides name school grounds. Many schools close grounds during the school day, and the notes say so when the source does.

Can I pull a sled behind a car or snowmobile?

FQ_AAP says never ride a sled behind a car, ATV or snowmobile (FQ_AAP News).

Where can I report an unsafe sled?

The FQ_CPSC takes reports at SaferProducts.gov (FQ_CPSC).

Back to top

Warm cities and driving to snow

Where can I sled near Los Angeles?

See Sledding near Los Angeles for mountain areas, drive notes and sources.

Where can I sled near San Diego?
Do mountain roads need chains?

Sometimes. California and other states post chain controls on mountain roads. Check the state DOT road report before you drive.

Can I sled anywhere on the side of a mountain road?

No. Many roadside turnouts are not sledding areas, and parking on the shoulder can be banned. Our warm-city guides list named snow play areas from their managing agency.

Do snow play areas need a permit or fee?

Some do. National forest and state park snow play areas can need a parking pass or fee. The guide notes say what the source states.

Back to top

How we source and fixes

Where does the information come from?

City, county and park district pages first, then local news, tourism offices and local guides. Every hill links its source. More on How we source.

How often do you check sources?

Each hill shows the date we last checked its source. We recheck before each winter.

Who writes the site?

See About.

A hill closed or the info is wrong. How do I fix it?

Use the corrections form. Include the hill name and a link if you have one.

Can I ask you to remove a listing?

Yes. Property owners and park staff can ask through corrections and removals.

Can I use your data?

The data story CSV is free to use under CC BY 4.0 with credit. See the data page.

Back to top

Health and safety lines quote the linked groups and are not a safety promise. Park rules and posted signs come first.