San Diego has no snow in town, but the Laguna and Cuyamaca mountains, about an hour east, get snow after some winter storms. These are public lands with their own rules, so the details below come from the agency that runs each place.
Snow-play areas, with sources
Each spot below is named by the public agency or source linked in its card. Anything the source does not say is marked "Not stated by source".
Laguna Mountain Play Area
Cleveland National Forest, Mount Laguna, off Sunrise Highway (S1)
- Drive from downtown
- About 1 hr 7 min, 54 miles, with no traffic or snow (routing estimate from OSRM on OpenStreetMap roads). Snow-day traffic can double it.
- Cost or pass
- Adventure Pass: $5 a day or $30 a year, per the Forest Service page
- Parking
- Park only where legal; see the source page
- Rules
- Follow posted forest rules
- Call ahead
- Recorded conditions line: (619) 445-6235
- Source
- USDA Forest Service, Cleveland NF (checked October 28, 2026)
Search on Google Maps
Cuyamaca Rancho State Park
State park on Highway 79, south of Julian
- Drive from downtown
- About 0 hr 56 min, 46 miles, with no traffic or snow (routing estimate from OSRM on OpenStreetMap roads). Snow-day traffic can double it.
- Cost or pass
- $10 day use, per California State Parks
- Parking
- Park only in designated spaces or legal turnouts, per the park
- Rules
- Not every slope is open for play. Ask the park.
- Call ahead
- Park office: (760) 765-3020
- Source
- California State Parks (checked October 28, 2026)
Search on Google Maps
Palomar Mountain State Park
State park in north San Diego County
- Drive from downtown
- About 1 hr 30 min, 61 miles, with no traffic or snow (routing estimate from OSRM on OpenStreetMap roads). Snow-day traffic can double it.
- Cost or pass
- $10 day use, per California State Parks
- Parking
- Not stated by source
- Rules
- Not stated by source
- Call ahead
- Not stated by source
- Source
- California State Parks (checked October 28, 2026)
Search on Google Maps
Aspen Glen Snow Play Area, Big Bear
San Bernardino National Forest, Mill Creek Road, Big Bear Lake (a long day trip from San Diego)
- Drive from downtown
- About 3 hr 9 min, 145 miles, with no traffic or snow (routing estimate from OSRM on OpenStreetMap roads). Snow-day traffic can double it.
- Cost or pass
- $5 a day or $30 a year. A recreation pass is required on Mill Creek Road and Tulip Lane when snow is present.
- Parking
- Limited parking. Vehicles must be legally parked and out of travel lanes.
- Rules
- Leash dogs (6 ft max). Pack out trash. No restrooms or water.
- Call ahead
- Mountaintop Ranger District: (909) 382-2790
- Source
- USDA Forest Service, San Bernardino NF (checked October 28, 2026)
Get directions
When snow usually arrives
NOAA's 1991 to 2020 climate normals give monthly averages, not dates. At the Julian station (USC00044412, near Cuyamaca and Julian) the snowiest months are March (3.0 inches), February (1.9) and January (1.1); December averages 0.2. NOAA normals, Julian (checked October 28, 2026)
At Big Bear Lake (USC00040741), December averages 11.0 inches, January 13.4, February 14.3 and March 11.7. NOAA normals, Big Bear Lake (checked October 28, 2026)
San Diego's mountains get snow only after some storms and it can melt within a day or two. Check before you drive.
Chains, closures and road conditions
Caltrans uses three chain control levels. R1 means chains are required except on vehicles with snow tires on the drive axle. R2 means chains are required except on four-wheel or all-wheel drive vehicles with snow tires on all four wheels. R3 means chains are required on all vehicles. Carry chains even with 4WD. Caltrans chain controls (checked October 28, 2026)
For live road status, check Caltrans QuickMap before leaving. Snow-day crowds fill turnouts early, and parking on the road shoulder where it is not allowed can get you ticketed or towed.
Call ahead
- Ask whether there is enough snow to play. Sources do not post a daily snow depth for these areas.
- Ask whether the road is open and which chain level is posted.
- Ask whether your pass works at that site. The Forest Service lists the Adventure Pass, a digital recreation pass or an interagency pass at Aspen Glen.