Near me

Guide

Where to sled near Portland

Mt. Hood, with passes, rules and drive times. Every detail links to its source.

These are the nearest public or permitted snow-play options our sources name, with the agency or operator for each one.

Snow-play areas, with sources

Each spot below is named by the public agency or source linked in its card. Anything the source does not say is marked "Not stated by source".

Little John Sno-Park snow play hill

Mt. Hood National Forest, Oregon Route 35

Drive from downtown
About 1 hr 51 min, 72 miles, with no traffic or snow (routing estimate from OSRM on OpenStreetMap roads). Snow-day traffic can double it.
Cost or pass
Oregon Sno-Park permit required Nov. 1 to April 30
Parking
Room for 40 vehicles
Rules
Inner tubes and sliding discs only. No sleds, toboggans, skis or snowboards. Vault toilet and warming shelter on site.
Call ahead
Hood River Ranger District: 541-352-6002
Source
USDA Forest Service, Mt. Hood NF (checked October 28, 2026) ODOT Sno-Parks (checked October 28, 2026)

Get directions

When snow usually arrives

Our sources do not give snow dates for these areas: Not stated by source. Mountain snow comes and goes with each storm, so call the number on the card before you drive.

Road conditions

Check ODOT TripCheck before you leave. Snow-day crowds fill lots early, and shoulder parking where it is not allowed can get you ticketed or towed.

Winter parking permits (SNO-Park)

California State Parks says: "A SNO-Park permit is required for each vehicle parked at a SNO-Park site from November 1 through May 30 of each year." It lists day permits at $15 and season permits at $40. (California State Parks OHV, SNO-Park Permits, checked 2026-10-28) Oregon's DMV page lists Oregon permits separately. Not every snow-play area on this page is a SNO-Park, so check the card's source.

Short answers

How far is the snow from Portland?

The closest spot on this page is Mt. Hood, about 1 hr 51 min and 72 miles with no traffic or snow, by OSRM routing.

Is sledding free near Portland?

Every spot on this page lists a pass, permit or fee, or the source does not say. See each card for the cost.

Updated