Near me

Guide

Where to sled near San Jose

Tamarack SNO-Park, Echo Summit, with passes, rules and drive times. Every detail links to its source.

These are the nearest public or permitted snow-play options our sources name, with the agency or operator for each one.

Snow-play areas, with sources

Each spot below is named by the public agency or source linked in its card. Anything the source does not say is marked "Not stated by source".

Tamarack SNO-Park

Sierra National Forest, south side of Highway 168, about 10 miles east of Shaver Lake

Drive from downtown
About 4 hr 20 min, 192 miles, with no traffic or snow (routing estimate from OSRM on OpenStreetMap roads). Snow-day traffic can double it.
Cost or pass
SNO-Park permit required Nov. 1 to May 30: $15 a day or $40 a season, per California State Parks
Parking
First come, first served. Cleared lots are not guaranteed every day.
Rules
Shared with snowmobiles and cross-country skiers. Ask the forest which slopes are open for play.
Call ahead
Not stated by source
Source
California State Parks, Tamarack (checked October 28, 2026) SNO-Park permits (checked October 28, 2026)

Search on Google Maps

Echo Lake SNO-Park

Eldorado National Forest, north side of Highway 50 at Echo Lake Road, near Echo Summit

Drive from downtown
About 4 hr 12 min, 201 miles, with no traffic or snow (routing estimate from OSRM on OpenStreetMap roads). Snow-day traffic can double it.
Cost or pass
SNO-Park permit: $15 a day or $40 a season, Nov. 1 to May 30
Parking
No parking on the entry road (Johnson Pass Road), per State Parks
Rules
Listed activities include snow play. No snowmobiles.
Call ahead
Eldorado National Forest: (530) 644-2324
Source
California State Parks, Echo Lake (checked October 28, 2026)

Get directions

Adventure Mountain Lake Tahoe (private tubing, Echo Summit)

Echo Summit, Highway 50, under a Forest Service permit

Drive from downtown
About 4 hr 12 min, 201 miles, with no traffic or snow (routing estimate from OSRM on OpenStreetMap roads). Snow-day traffic can double it.
Cost or pass
Paid. The business lists a $20 per-vehicle entrance fee that covers parking and snow play, with tubing sessions extra. SNO-Park permits are not accepted.
Parking
Included in the entrance fee
Rules
The business says sledding is not allowed. Tubing only.
Call ahead
Not stated by source
Source
Adventure Mountain Lake Tahoe (checked October 28, 2026) Eldorado NF (checked October 28, 2026)

Search on Google Maps

When snow usually arrives

Our sources do not give snow dates for these areas: Not stated by source. Mountain snow comes and goes with each storm, so call the number on the card before you drive.

Chains and road conditions

Caltrans uses three chain control levels, R1 to R3. Carry chains even with 4WD. Caltrans chain controls (checked October 28, 2026) Check Caltrans QuickMap before you leave, and do not park on shoulders where it is not allowed.

Winter parking permits (SNO-Park)

California State Parks says: "A SNO-Park permit is required for each vehicle parked at a SNO-Park site from November 1 through May 30 of each year." It lists day permits at $15 and season permits at $40. (California State Parks OHV, SNO-Park Permits, checked 2026-10-28) Oregon's DMV page lists Oregon permits separately. Not every snow-play area on this page is a SNO-Park, so check the card's source.

Short answers

How far is the snow from San Jose?

The closest spot on this page is Echo Summit, about 4 hr 12 min and 201 miles with no traffic or snow, by OSRM routing.

Is sledding free near San Jose?

Every spot on this page lists a pass, permit or fee, or the source does not say. See each card for the cost.

Updated